March 2011: Executive Committee minutes

President Henry Davis called the meeting to order at 5:40 p.m, March 16, 2011 at One News Plaza, second-floor meeting room.

Davis said the bargaining committee met today and that a guild survey would be out soon.

He said there was research to be done concerning compensation, wages. A research committee is being created of Aaron Besinger, Sandy Tan and Jim Heaney.

Phil Fairbanks reported on a grievance caucus over the termination of an editorial member. A new grievance has been filed on the termination; the previous grievance regarding her suspension has gone to arbitration. The new grievance deals with there being no two weeks notice before the termination; management has said the employee was on unpaid suspension.

A grievance has been filed regarding vacation scheduling in ABC.

An outstanding grievance relates to stringer/freelance issues in the newsroom, for the most part regarding Niagara County coverage; there are also issues regarding Janice Okun and a horse racing column in sports.

There is a potential grievance regarding circulation and its holiday pay and confusion on which day the holiday was celebrated and which day was not holiday pay.

Kim Leiser said there had been discussion about a laptop being purchased to be used by the bargaining team, so the team can efficiently provide updates on the Web site and create bargaining bulletins.

Motion/Second/Carried Heaney/Leiser to authorize Geoff Nason to research laptops and purchase one up to $1,500, but hopefully less than that.

M/S/C Heaney/Fairbanks for authorization to contact the Erie County Health Dept. for inspection of unsanitary conditions in restroom.

M/S/C Davis/Heaney to adjourn at 6:02 p.m.

Attendance: President Henry Davis, Vice President Phil Fairbanks, Vice President Sandy Tan, Secretary Keith McShea, Treasurer Kim Leiser, ABC Chief Steward Felice McMillion, classified chief steward Beverly Gwiewecki, editorial/clerks chief steward Susan Kelley, editorial/dayside chief steward Geoff Nason, editorial delegates Jim Heaney, Brian Meyer, Aaron Besecker, at-large delegate Tammy Turnbull.

Excused: District manager chief steward Dick Fay, ABC delegate Carol Jones, editorial delegate Denise Gee, inside circulation delegate Tricia Clark.