November 2011 Executive Committee Minutes

Nov. 15, 2011 – President Henry Davis called the meeting to order at 5:41 p.m, Nov. 15, 2011 at One News Plaza, second-floor meeting room.

Davis said that two positions on executive committee from editorial need to be filled.

“Mike Harrington and Mark Sommer are interested and we’re excited about them coming onto the committee. Both are really interested in getting involved,” Davis said.

Motion/Second/Carried Tan/Kelley to nominate Mike Harrington and Mark Sommer as
editorial representatives to the executive committee.

The executive committee and local meetings for 2012 have been set. They are, as they were in 2011, every third Wednesday except for occasions of the quarterly local meetings; in those cases, executive committee meetings are on Tuesday with the local meetings on Wednesday.

Executive committee meeting dates for 2012: Wed. Jan. 18, Tue. Feb. 14, Wed. March 21, Wed. April 18, Tue. May 15, Wed. June 20, Wed. July 18, Tue. Aug. 14, Wed. Sept. 19, Wed. Oct. 17, Tue. Nov. 13, Wed. Dec. 12.

Local meeting dates for 2012 are all Wednesdays: Feb. 15, May 16, Aug. 15, Nov. 14.

The November dates were moved up to avoid Thanksgiving week.

Romantic members of the executive committee suggested that the February executive meeting perhaps be moved to lunchtime on Valentine’s Day, or to prior to the local meeting the next day.

M/S/C Tan/Kelley to approve the 2012 meeting dates.

Tan and Clark reminded the committee that the holiday party is Saturday, Dec. 3 at Pearl Street Grill’s new banquet facility, Pearl and Webb. Tickets are $10 for members, $15 for nonmembers. Doors open at 5 p.m. with dinner at 6.

M/S/C Tan/Kelley to adjourn at 5:52 p.m.

Attendance: President Henry Davis, Vice President/Mobilization Sandy Tan, Secretary Keith McShea, office manager Tammy Turnbull, classified delegate Beverly Gniewecki, inside circulation delegate Tricia Clark, editorial delegate/clerks chief steward Susan Kelley, district manager chief steward Dick Fay.

Excused: Vice President/Grievances Phil Fairbanks, Treasurer Kim Leiser, editorial delegate Aaron Besecker.