November 2011 Local Meeting Minutes

Nov. 16, 2011 – President Henry Davis called the meeting to order at 5:36 p.m, Nov. 16, 2011 at One News Plaza, first-auditorium.

Tammy Turnbull reported for Phil Fairbanks: There are no current grievances, the last pending grievance was settled via contract negotiations.

Nothing to report through mobilization; Tricia Clark will speak on the holiday party later.

Kim Leiser reviewed the Guild’s annual budget for 2012. The Guild remains in good financial shape despite the loss of members in recent years; Davis cited the benefits of cost-cutting measures in the last few years.

Davis announced that the contract negotiated with management passed by a vote of 114-9. The participation in the vote, Turnbull noted, was higher than the last contract vote despite the Guild having significantly lower numbers now.

Davis thanked Guild members for participating in mobilization efforts and thanks the members of the bargaining team for “an outstanding job.”

Davis announced that Guild executive and local meeting dates for 2012 had been passed by the executive committee. Local meeting dates for 2012 are all Wednesdays: Feb. 15, May 16, Aug. 15, Nov. 14.

Davis announced that two openings from editorial on the executive committee have been filled by Mark Sommer and Mike Harrington.

He also announced that Alexa Finn will be filling a spot in classified; Finn is returning to The News after being laid off because of Guild members’ recall rights.

Clark said that the holiday party will be held Saturday, Dec. 3 at 6 p.m. at Pearl Street’s new banquet facility, located just to the left of Pearl Street’s entrance. There is a separate entrance to the new facility. Tickets will be available starting Friday. Renowned band “Jeff Simon’s Desk” will be playing. “Tell your friends,” said Clark.

Davis said that some members have asked when the signing bonus check would arrive; management has said no later than Dec. 13. Time is built in for members to open 401K accounts or medical reimbursement accounts if they wish to devote the signing bonus to those accounts.

Motion/Second/Carried Gryta/Davis to adjourn at 5:44 p.m.

Attendance: President Henry Davis, Treasurer Kim Leiser, Secretary Keith McShea, office manager Tammy Turnbull, service representative Marian Needham, classified delegate Beverly Gniewecki, inside circulation delegate Tricia Clark, editorial delegate Aaron Besecker, editorial nightside chief steward Mike Pesarchik, editorial delegate/clerks chief steward Susan Kelley, Matt Gryta, Mark Mulville, Dan Kirchberger, Dick Baldwin.

Excused: Vice President/Mobilization Sandy Tan, Vice President/Grievances Phil Fairbanks, ABC delegate Felice McMillion, district manager chief steward Dick Fay.