October 2011 Executive Committee Minutes

Oct. 19, 2011 – President Henry Davis called the meeting to order at 5:40 p.m, Oct. 19, 2011, at One News Plaza, second-floor meeting room.

Financial report by Kim Leiser.

The finance committee met and approved the 2012 budget for submission to the executive committee.

Motion/Second/Carried Clark/Fairbanks to approve the budget for 2012.

Fairbanks reported on grievances.

The ABC grievance involving vacations was settled today by the bargaining team as part of negotiations.

Sandy Tan reported on mobilization.

The mobilzation committee has been behind several job actions, from the car vinyl cling distributions, the coffee break, the march through the building, and black Fridays in addition to table tents and balloons.

Byline Blackout forms have been distributed and will be collected by Friday for a byline strike that would be enacted Oct. 30 and 31.

A post-it mobilization display was ordered taken down by management.

This morning, Guild members stood and cheered as the members of the bargaining team entered the meeting room for a negotiating session.

“The bargaining team really appreciated it,” said Davis.

“That’s what unions do,” said Gniewecki. “They’re together.”

It was noted that a dozen employees — who are members of other unions — signed The Guild’s petition.

Clark reported that the Christmas Party will be held Saturday, Dec. 3 at Pearl St. Grill’s new banquet facility. The Sabres are not playing — but the band Jeff Simon’s Desk is!

New business

Sports reporter Allen Wilson is battling leukemia. A fundraiser has been organized and it has been proposed that The Guild make a donation.

M/S/C Tan/Fairbanks to donate $250 to Allen Wilson.

Fairbanks and Davis discussed a retirement event for Jim Heaney which is being organized by cityside members. The event is charging per head.

M/S/C Fairbanks/McShea to donate $150 to Jim Heaney’s farewell party donation. One opposed.

Davis provided an update on bargaining.

M/S/C Fairbanks/Leiser to adjourn at 6:36 p.m.

Attendance: President Henry Davis, Vice President/Mobilization Sandy Tan, Vice President/Grievances Phil Fairbanks, Treasurer Kim Leiser, Secretary Keith McShea, office manager Tammy Turnbull, classified delegate Beverly Gniewecki, inside circulation delegate Tricia Clark, district manager chief steward Dick Fay, district manager delegate Brian Long, editorial delegate/clerks chief steward Susan Kelley, editorial delegate Aaron Besecker, editorial delegate Denise Gee, editorial delegate Mike Pesarchick.

Excused: ABC delegate Felice McMillion.