December 2014 executive committee meeting minutes

Wednesday, December 3, 2014

President Henry Davis called the meeting to order at 5:04 p.m, Dec. 3, 2014 at The News’ second-floor conference room, One News Plaza.

Motion/Second/Carried Leiser/Besecker to approve the October 2014 executive committee meeting minutes as published on the Guild’s web site.

Tresurer Kim Leiser reviewed the budgets for the 2013-14 and 2014-15 fiscal years. They were recommended for approval by the finance committee.

M/S/C Fairbanks/Besecker to approve the 2014-15 budget, as recommended by the finance committee.

Phil Fairbanks reported on mobilization: There are several mobilization efforts, either new or ongoing. Fairbanks lauded Christina Wilemski and Adam Zyglis for their efforts in helping in the design work for some of the mobilization materials.

Old business

The holiday party will be Friday, Dec. 12 at Century Grill. Members are free; guests $15.

Davis reported on his visit to the most recent Buffalo Labor Federation meeting, one which touched on the “fight for 15” to raise minimum wage, one of the larger issues that the council is working for.

Davis provided a bargaining update, as management and the Guild met on Monday. A bargaining bulletin will be out soon, and the next meeting is tentatively scheduled for Dec. 15.

New business

Marian Needham running for secretary/treasurer of The Newspaper Guild, on a ticket with incumbent president Bernie Lunzer.

Sarah Steffans, the current secretary/treasurer of TNG, is running as secretary/treasurer of CWA.

Davis and the committee discussed the possibility and rationale of endorsing candidates, something the Guild has not done often in recent years, a reiteration of last meeting (when an endorsement was made).

M/S/C Gniewecki/Leiser to endorse Chris Shelton & Sarah Steffans for CWA president and secretary/treasurer, respectively.

Davis explained that there is an upcoming Orlando sector conference for TNG, which is also a prelude to a CWA conference.

It is expected to be an important sector conference due to issues involving dues and ideas regarding re-aligning of sectors.

There are already members who need to attend: Kim Leiser (treasurer of sector), Felice McMillion (human rights committee) and Tammy Turnbull (nominating Marion Needham). Portions of Leiser’s and McMillion’s expenses will be reimbursed by TNG. Also, attendance is required at Orlando if a delegate is to attend the CWA conference in Detroit on June 8-10, 2015.

M/S/C Robinson/McShea to send up to six delegates to the TNG sector conference in Orlando in 2015.

Davis note that The News will be bringing in a new vendor in the News building’s cafeteria space.

M/S/C Besecker/McShea to approve the following dates for 2015 meetings:

2015 executive committee meetings: Tue. Jan. 20, Wed. Feb. 18, Wed. March 18, Tue. April 14, Wed. May 20, Wed. June 17, Tue. July 14, Wed. Aug. 19, Wed. Sept. 16, Tue. Oct. 13, Wed. Nov. 18, Wed. Dec. 16.

2015 local meetings: Wed. Jan. 21, Wed. April 15, Wed. July 15, Wed. Oct. 14.

M/S/C Davis/McShea to adjourn at 6:05 p.m.


Attendance: President Henry Davis, Vice President/Mobilization Phil Fairbanks, Treasurer Kim Leiser, Secretary Keith McShea, office manager Tammy Turnbull, ABC chief steward Felice McMillion, classified delegate Beverly Gniewecki, editorial delegates Aaron Besecker, Mike Harrington, Denise Gee and David Robinson, editorial delegate/clerks chief Susan Kelley, nightside chief steward Mike Pesarchick,


Absent: Past president Pat Gormley, district manager delegate Bob Snyder, district manager chief steward Dick Fay, editorial delegate Trey Bankhead, Vice President/Grievances Mark Sommer.