June 2015 Executive Committee meeting minutes

Guild executive committee minutes // Tuesday, June 16, 2015

President Henry Davis called the meeting to order at 12:34 p.m, June 16, 2015 at The News’ second-floor conference room, One News Plaza.

Davis provided an update on bargaining with the News and the latest proposals that were exchanged.

Davis updated the committee on the previous week’s CWA convention in Detroit, which was an important one attended by more than 1,000 people. New president Chris Shelton was elected, as was new secretary/treasurer Sara Steffens; Steffens had been the secretary/treasurer for The Newspaper Guild.

“She brings a smart, energetic presence to CWA,” Davis said.

Davis noted that CWA is an “incredibly diverse” union of various industries, including airlines, health care, telephone companies, police officers — in addition to newspapers. He was impressed by how they handled controversial debates regarding CWA policies and approaches to issues. “All treated the opposition with respect,” said Davis. “How things should be handled by union.”

Davis said he hopes other guild members have the opportunity to attend a CWA convention.

Davis noted that with Steffens’ ascension, her spot has been filled by Marian Needham

Marian Needham, the guild’s longtime lead negotiator and adviser, is now No. 2 in TNG as its secretary/treasurer.

Marian and Henry noted that the CWA and TNG are concentrating on organizing digital workers.

Motion/Second/Carried Davis/McShea to adjourn at 1:25 p.m.

Attendance: President Henry Davis, Vice President/Mobilization Phil Fairbanks, Vice President/Grievances Mark Sommer, Treasurer Kim Leiser, Secretary Keith McShea, office manager Tammy Turnbull, ABC chief steward Felice McMillion, classified delegate Beverly Gniewecki, editorial delegates Aaron Besecker, Denise Gee, Mike Harrington and David Robinson, editorial delegate/clerks chief Susan Kelley, alternate district manager delegate Brian Long, mobilization committee members Colin Dabkowski, Steve Watson, Sandy Tan.


Absent: Past president Pat Gormley, district manager delegate Bob Snyder, district manager chief steward Dick Fay, editorial delegate Trey Bankhead, nightside chief steward Mike Pesarchick,