Guild executive committee minutes // Wednesday, Aug. 17, 2016

President Henry Davis called the meeting to order at 5:09 p.m, Aug. 17, 2016 at The News’ second-floor conference room, One News Plaza.

Motion/Second/Carried McShea/Leiser to approve the minutes for June.

Aaron Besecker reported on grievances.

There is a situation in which a non-affiliate is doing guild work in classified and a jurisdiction issue in classified. Besecker and Henry Davis were to talk to editorial management regarding photo situations over the last several months.

Henry Davis on old business.

– Davis provided an update on the guild’s bylaws. The goal is to update old language and/or circumstances that have changed over the years. Davis requested that committee members look into the bylaws themselves to review them for areas that need updating.

– The Guild is pursuing the idea of a college mentorship program. It may require doing something along the lines of this having this program incorporating, separate from guild, for liability purposes. Henry is to meet with a lawyer to learn about the costs.

– Update regarding the new local service rep.

The last item to be handled regarding this position was a severance package; Davis said we should have a formal arrangement.

– Motion/Second/Carried Besecker/Mikler to set severance for Kim Leiser to count her total years of service: One week for every six months of service.

Leiser noted that the term “local service representative” is outdated and that guilds that have similar positions refer to them as “executive officer” or “administrative officer.”

Henry Davis provided a bargaining update.

A flyer was sent out yesterday with an update on the classified situation and how the Guild made a proposal to management on the topic.

The next bargaining meeting is in September due to various vacations.

Motion/Second/Carried Besecker/McMillion to adjourn at 5:47 p.m.

Attendance: President Henry Davis, Vice President/Grievances Aaron Besecker, Treasurer Kim Leiser, Secretary Keith McShea, ABC chief steward Felice McMillion, classified delegate/chief steward Renee Mikler, inside circulation delegate Diana Gawron, editorial delegates Mark Sommer and Mike Harrington, editorial chief steward Dan Kirchberger.

Excused: Vice President/Mobilization Colin Dabkowski, classified delegates Beverly Gniewecki, editorial delegate David Robinson.

Absent: Past president Pat Gormley, district manager delegate Bob Snyder, district manager chief steward Dick Fay, editorial delegates Phil Fairbanks, Denise Gee and Trey Bankhead, nightside chief steward Mike Pesarchick, alternate editorial delegate Sandy Tan, editorial delegate/clerks chief Susan Kelley.