October 2016 Guild executive committee minutes

Guild executive committee minutes // Tuesday, Oct. 18, 2016

President Henry Davis called the meeting to order at 5:04 p.m, Oct. 18, 2016 at The News’ second-floor conference room, One News Plaza.

Aaron Besecker reported on grievances.

Besecker said the guild is writing a letter to management regarding the use of photos, including Buffalo Magazine’s use of staff photos and use of reporter photos in print.

An issue regarding the posting of the photo schedule was resolved.

Colin Dabkowski reported on mobilization.

Dabkowski said a number of strategies are in place as negotiations continue.

Sandy Tan noted that it is important to put flyers/newsletters out in between bargaining sessions to keep members as engaged as possible.

Dabkowski said there are stickers and a happy hour planned as well as a flyer.

Henry Davis provided an update on the bargaining session held earlier in the day; classified continuing to be a main issue.

Motion/Second/Carried Besecker/Robinson that Kim Leiser’s title will now be the more well-suited and accurate “administrative officer.” This is a change from the previous “local service representative.”

Leiser provided a holiday party update. A tentative plan was Templeton Landing on Dec. 2 from 6-10 p.m. She said she was trying to stick within the previous year’s budgeted amount

Davis said the next bargaining sessions were scheduled for Oct. 26 and Nov. 2.

Motion/Second/Carried Besecker/Tan to adjourn at 5:35 p.m.

Attendance: President Henry Davis, Vice President/Grievances Aaron Besecker, Vice President/Mobilization Colin Dabkowski, Administrative Officer Kim Leiser, Secretary Keith McShea, ABC chief steward Felice McMillion, editorial delegates Mark Sommer and David Robinson, classified delegate Beverly Gniewecki, inside circulation delegate Latrice Carr, alternate editorial delegate Sandy Tan.

Excused: Editorial delegates David Robinson, Mike Harrington and Denise Gee, editorial chief steward Dan Kirchberger, inside circulation delegate Diana Gawron.

Absent: Past president Pat Gormley, district manager delegate Bob Snyder, district manager chief steward Dick Fay, editorial delegates Phil Fairbanks and Trey Bankhead, nightside chief steward Mike Pesarchick and editorial delegate/clerks chief Susan Kelley, classified delegate/chief steward Renee Mikler.