Guild executive committee minutes // Wednesday, Nov. 16, 2016

Guild executive committee minutes // Wednesday, Nov. 16, 2016

President Henry Davis called the meeting to order at 5:09 p.m, Nov. 16, 2016 at The News’ second-floor conference room, One News Plaza.

Motion/Second/Carried Davis/Kirchberger to approve the minutes for October’s executive committee meeting.

Colin Dabkowski reported on mobilization.

Dabkowski said that the Guild is getting its message across with its “no pay cuts” message. A recent balloons action will be followed by a variety of planned job actions; he said the guild would be “ramping up” the actions. .

The holiday party will be Dec. 2 at Templeton Landing. .

Aaron Besecker reported on contract administration.

Photography issues continued to be worked on. Kim Leiser is working on some district manager issues.

Nomination of executive board members for 2017:

M/S/C Colin Dabkowski/Trey Bankhead to appoint the following 2017 stewards:

Renee Mikler (classified)
Felice McMillion (ABC — accounting, bookkeeping and credit)
Dick Fay (district managers)
Susan Kelley (editorial, clerks)
Mike Pesarchick (editorial, nightside)
Dan Kirchberger (editorial)
Latrice Carr (inside circulation)
Diana Gawron (inside circulation)

M/S/C Keith McShea/Colin Dabkowski to appoint the following 2017 executive committee members:

Bev Gniewecki (classified)
Jackie Kuma (alternate/classified)
Alexa Finn (alternate/classified)
Bob Snyder (district managers)
Dave Robinson (editorial)
Mike Harrington (editorial)
Trey Bankhead (editorial)
Phil Fairbanks (editorial)
Mark Sommer (editorial).

M/S/C Henry Davis/Susan Kelley to appoint the following 2017 executive committee officers:

Keith McShea, Secretary
Felice McMillion, Treasurer
Aaron Besecker, Vice President — contract administration
Colin Dabkowski, Vice President — mobilization
Sandy Tan, President

Davis says he is “really pleased that the guild is going to be in great hands moving forward.”

Davis provided an update on bargaining.

M/S/C Aaron Besecker/Dan Kirchberger to adjourn at 6:18 p.m.

Attendance: President Henry Davis, Vice President/Grievances Aaron Besecker, Vice President/Mobilization Colin Dabkowski, Secretary Keith McShea, editorial delegates Mark Sommer, Mike Harrington, Phil Fairbanks and Trey Bankhead, editorial chief steward Dan Kirchberger, nightside chief steward Mike Pesarchick, editorial delegate/clerks chief Susan Kelley, classified delegate/chief steward Renee Mikler, inside circulation delegate Diana Gawron, classified delegate Beverly Gniewecki, and alternate editorial delegate Sandy Tan.

Excused: Administrative Officer Kim Leiser, editorial delegates David Robinson, ABC chief steward Felice McMillion, inside circulation delegate Latrice Carr.

Absent: Past president Pat Gormley, district manager delegate Bob Snyder, district manager chief steward Dick Fay.