Guild executive committee minutes: Tuesday, Nov. 12, 2019

President Sandy Tan called the meeting to order at 5:03 p.m. Tuesday, Nov. 12, 2019 at The News’ second-floor conference room, One News Plaza.

There are no minutes.

Administrative Officer Kim Leiser asks for nominations for executive officer positions.

Keith McShea nominates Sandy Tan for president.

Leiser, hearing no nominations, declares Sandy Tan president by acclamation.
Keith McShea nominates Aaron Besecker for Vice President for Contract Enforcement.

Tan, hearing no nominations, declares Besecker VP for Contract Enforcement.

Tan asks for nomination for Vice President for Mobilization and Communication.

Mike Harrington nominates Rachel Lenzi.

Tan, hearing no other nominations, declares Lenzi the Vice President of Mobilization.

Besecker nominates Keith McShea for Secretary.

Tan, hearing no other nominations, declares McShea the Secretary.

Besecker nominates Diana Gawron for Treasurer.

Tan, hearing no other nominations, declares Gawron the Treasurer.

McShea reads the following list of executive committee nominations:


Mike Pesarchick, nightside steward
Past President:
Phil Fairbanks
Executive Committee:
Mike Harrington
Dave Robinson
Mark Sommer
Scott Scanlon
Executive Committee:
Joan Portman
Executive Committee:
Felice McMillion
Executive Committee:
Lian Bunny
Executive Committee:

Karen Hipp, dayside steward
Mark Hannover, nightside steward
Executive Committee:
Kathy Mooney
Tan, hearing no other nominations, declares all of the previously read stewards and executive committee members appointed by committee consent.

Tan declared that all executive members will receive an extra ticket at the holiday part, which was received with great adoration and applause.

The budget was discussed, with Sandy Tan mentioning that part of the discussion will be held without Leiser because it has to do with Leiser’s compensation.

Leiser reviews the budget. She says there is not a lot to cut out. Finance committee member David Robinson discussed how the defense fund has been used to fill gaps.

“We have 3/4 million in our defense fund — we should use that to fund our operation, as long as finance committee and the guild leadership are being as careful as we are,” he said. “It’s a good way to use our defense fund.”
“At some point there’s not a whole lot more we can trim before we become a unhealthy organization,” Tan said.

Sandy belatedly introduces everyone to Typographical steward. Karen Hipp
Leiser left the for discussion of her salary.

Leiser was due a step increase, but her salary had been frozen when the Guild had budget struggles due to the exodus of members in the last round of buyouts; she recommended the delay in her raise at the time.

Tan said Leiser has spent an inordinate amount of time at the Typographical Office to bring new members into the fold, and that the raise is certainly appropriate. “The Guild would not be able to function without her.

“She hadnles a lot of things on our behalf. She is likely to be our chief negotiator in upcoming negotiations, and she’s going to be taking on more responsibilities.”

Robinson credited Leiser for several cost-cutting measures, including changing her benefits and a litany of items including the Guild’s use of phones and printing. He said the savings pay for her raise.

Tan said “those were proactive steps she took without prompting from us.”

The raise discussion took place without Leiser and the committee agreed on Leiser receiving the raise as outlined in the budget.

Leiser returned to the meeting.

Motion/Second/Carried Besecker/Pesarchik to approve the budget for 2020.

Leiser says the Holiday Party will be Dec. 6 , moved from Dec. 13, with a similar menu and same ticket format as last year. DJ Aaron will spin some jams. The typographical unit is ready to rock. “We’ll be there,” said Karen Hipp.

There was brief discussion of the freelancer issue relative to a hockey freelancer and a possible enterprise story coming up.

Tan adjourned the meeting at 5:48 p.m..

Attendance: President Sandy Tan, Vice President/Grievances Aaron Besecker, Vice President/Mobilization Rachel Lenzi, Secretary Keith McShea, Administrative Officer Kim Leiser, Typographical dayside steward Karen Hipp, district manager steward Joan Portman, inside circulation delegate Diana Gawron, editorial delegate Mike Harrington, editorial delegate David Robinson, editorial delegate Mark Sommer, nightside chief steward Mike Pesarchick, Sun papers steward Lian Bunny.
Excused: Treasurer and ABC chief steward Felice McMillion, past president Phil Fairbanks, Typographical Nightside steward Mark Hanover, Typographical delegate Kathy Mooney, editorial alternate delegate Scott Scanlon.
Absent: District manager co-stewards Matt Fuery and Mike Tatko, editorial alternate delegate Jeff Miers, district manager alternate delegate Bob Snyder.