Guild executive committee minutes: Tuesday, April 4, 2017

President Sandy Tan called the meeting to order at 5:07 p.m, Wednesday, March 15, 2017 at The News’ second-floor conference room, One News Plaza.

VP for Contract Administration Aaron Besecker issued his committee report.

The committee is working on Gusto cover stories, Sunday home & style cover stories as well as an issue with management in which management may be doing layout work during the day.

VP for Mobilization Colin Dabkowski issued his committee report.

Dabkowski said a “debrief-type meeting” next week.

Our letter about diversity to the company is on hold for the time being; we would like to revive it.

Tammy Turnbull pointed out that the tentative agreement with management includes the establishment of a diversity committee, which is something that could be incorporated that into letter.

New business

Primary among items here, President Sandy Tan said, is the tentative agreement. Henry Davis summed it up and committee members provided feedback.

Tan said the next bargaining team will be selected in November.

Motion/Second/Carried Davis/Pesarchick to approve the tentative contract agreement; by a vote of 12-4.

MSC Davis /Mikler to eliminate guild dues from the severance payment to the classified workers who will be losing their jobs.

Tan, seeing no other business, adjourned the meeting at 6:02 p.m.


Attendance: President Sandy Tan, Vice President/Grievances Aaron Besecker, Vice President/Mobilization Colin Dabkowski, Treasurer and ABC chief steward Felice McMillion, Secretary Keith McShea, Past President Henry Davis, Administrative Officer Kim Leiser, inside circulation delegate Latrice Carr, inside circulation delegate Diana Gawron, district manager chief steward Dick Fay, classified delegate/chief steward Renee Mikler, classified delegate Beverly Gniewecki, editorial chief steward Dan Kirchberger, editorial delegate/clerks chief steward Susan Kelley, editorial delegates Trey Bankhead and Mike Harrington, David Robinson, Phil Fairbanks and Mark Sommer, nightside chief steward Mike Pesarchick, NewsGuild-CWA Sector Representative and bargaining team member Tammy Turnbull.

Absent: District manager delegate Bob Snyder, classified alternate delegate Jacqueline Kuma, classified alternate Alexa Finn, editorial alternate delegates Jeff Miers and Scott Scanlon.